Why people look for a BugHerd alternative
Price for a small shop
BugHerd starts at $50 a month for five members, with no free plan. For a freelancer or a two-person studio, that's paying for seats nobody uses.
Per-member pricing
The bill grows with the team. Some BugHerd reviewers have asked for seats per project instead of per account.
Something it doesn't do
Some teams want deeper task-tool sync, review of PDFs and designs, or a way to bill for the extra work clients ask for.
What to look for
- 1No client loginClients won't make an account for one review. Five of the six tools below say clients comment without one; Userback's pricing page doesn't say.
- 2Simple for non-technical clientsClick the thing, type the comment. If it needs explaining, feedback goes back to email.
- 3A price that suits your sizeLook at what the price counts: seats, projects or both. Flat pricing is easier to plan.
- 4Comments on the real sitePinned to the element on the live or staging site, with the browser and screen size, not a cropped screenshot.
At a glance
| Tool | Free plan | From, a month | Client login | Scope flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BugHerdfor reference | No | $50 | No | Not listed |
| Scopepin | Yes | $19 | No | Yes |
| Marker.io | No | $39 (yearly) | No | Not listed |
| Ybug | Yes | €13 | No | Not listed |
| Pastel | Yes | $35 | No | Not listed |
| Feedbucket | No | $49 | No | Not listed |
| Userback | Yes | $39 | Not stated | Not listed |
Entry paid plan, billed monthly unless marked yearly. “Not listed” means not on the tool’s own pricing or features pages when we checked, not that it can’t be done. Details and links below.
The alternatives, one by one
1. Scopepin
Client feedback pinned on the live site, plus private scope flags and priced change requests for the agency.
- Free plan
- Yes: 1 active project, unlimited clients and comments
- Entry price
- Starter $19 a month (3 projects, 1 person). Pro $39 (10 projects, 3 people), Agency $79 (unlimited projects, 10 people).
- Price counts
- Active projects. Flat per workspace, never per seat.
- Clients need an account
- No
- Flags out-of-scope requests
- Yes. The AI suggests which requests look outside the agreed scope, you confirm, and extras become a priced change request.
- Best for
- Small agencies and freelancers on fixed-price projects who want to stop giving away the small extras.
Our own tool, so weigh this one accordingly. Prices from our pricing page.
2. Marker.io
Website feedback and bug reporting that sends annotated screenshots, with technical details, into tools like Jira.
- Free plan
- No. A 15-day trial.
- Entry price
- From $39 a month billed yearly, for 3 users and up to 10 projects
- Price counts
- Users and projects. Reporters are free.
- Clients need an account
- No
- Flags out-of-scope requests
- Not listed
- Best for
- Developer teams who want bug reports kept in step with Jira tickets.
Checked October 8, 2026: Marker.io pricing. Scopepin vs Marker.io, side by side.
3. Ybug
A feedback and bug reporting widget: people draw on a screenshot of the page and send it with technical details.
- Free plan
- Yes: 1 project, 1 member, 50 screenshots a month
- Entry price
- €13 a month, or €10 billed yearly, for 3 members and 3 projects
- Price counts
- Members and projects
- Clients need an account
- No
- Flags out-of-scope requests
- Not listed
- Best for
- The lowest price for a small team that only needs screenshots and console logs, hosted in the EU.
Checked October 8, 2026: Ybug pricing. Scopepin vs Ybug, side by side.
4. Pastel
A review tool that opens a website, image, PDF or video in its own canvas from a link, with nothing added to the site.
- Free plan
- Yes: 1 user, 1 canvas
- Entry price
- $35 a month, or $29 billed yearly, for 2 users and 3 canvases
- Price counts
- Users and canvases (one website each)
- Clients need an account
- No
- Flags out-of-scope requests
- Approvals of the work. No priced change requests listed.
- Best for
- Reviewing designs, PDFs and videos as well as websites, without touching the site's code.
Checked October 8, 2026: Pastel pricing. Scopepin vs Pastel, side by side.
5. Feedbucket
A website feedback widget for agencies that keeps feedback in step with the task tool the team already uses.
- Free plan
- No. A 14-day trial.
- Entry price
- $49 a month, or $39 billed yearly, for 2 members and unlimited projects
- Price counts
- Members
- Clients need an account
- No
- Flags out-of-scope requests
- Not listed
- Best for
- Agencies that live in Asana, ClickUp, Jira or Linear and want two-way sync with them.
Checked October 8, 2026: Feedbucket pricing, Feedbucket home page.
6. Userback
A feedback platform for software teams: a widget for bug reports and feature requests, with surveys and a feature portal.
- Free plan
- Yes: 2 seats, 2 projects, feedback visible for 7 days
- Entry price
- $39 a month, or $29 billed yearly, for 5 seats and 5 projects
- Price counts
- Seats and projects
- Clients need an account
- Not stated on its pricing page. People who send feedback don't need a seat.
- Flags out-of-scope requests
- Not listed
- Best for
- Product teams collecting feedback from their own users on a live app.
Checked October 8, 2026: Userback pricing.
BugHerd facts from its own pages, checked October 8, 2026: BugHerd pricing, BugHerd features. Scopepin vs BugHerd, side by side.
How to choose
- You want it free for now: Scopepin for one client project at a time, or Ybug for screenshots on one project.
- Your team works in Jira, Asana or ClickUp all day: Feedbucket or Marker.io.
- You review designs, PDFs and videos too: Pastel.
- You collect feedback from your own users on an app: Userback.
- Clients keep asking for “one more small thing”: Scopepin. It’s the one built to turn those into a priced change request.
Questions
Is there a free BugHerd alternative?
Yes. Scopepin, Ybug, Pastel and Userback each have a free plan, with limits: Scopepin covers one active project, Ybug one project and 50 screenshots a month, Pastel one canvas, and Userback shows feedback for 7 days. BugHerd, Marker.io and Feedbucket offer trials instead.
Which BugHerd alternative is cheapest?
Ybug's paid plans start lowest, at €13 a month or €10 billed yearly. Its free plan is also generous for one project. Check what each price counts: some charge per member, some per project.
Do clients need an account with these tools?
Not with Scopepin, Marker.io, Ybug, Pastel or Feedbucket: clients comment without signing up. Userback's pricing page doesn't say, but people who send feedback don't take a seat.
What does Scopepin do that the others don't list?
It checks each request against the scope you agreed. The AI suggests which ones look outside it, only you see that, and you confirm. Extras become a priced change request the client approves from an email link. None of the other tools lists this on the pages we read.
How current is this list?
We read each tool's own pricing and features pages on October 8, 2026. Prices change; follow the links under each tool for theirs today.
Client feedback that pays for itself.
Free for one project, with unlimited clients and reviewers.